Oh little pig in Bethlehem


Elvis and Christmas TreeOH LITTLE PIG IN BETHLEHEM

     I thought about starting this story with “once upon a time,” but that sounded way too common for so amazing a tale.  Twas the night before Christmas was already taken.  So, I’ve decided to begin with, “Hi.  My name is Elvis and I was there the night when the most famous king who ever was, who ever will be was born.” 

      He was born in a little cave, surrounded by smelly cows, and believe me cows really do smell, stubborn donkeys, his crib was a trough that held food to feed all of us animals and his clothes…well, they were just old scraps of cloths that were layin around the cave.  But the strangest part was that he wasn’t born in some fairy tale kingdom or some great land far away with Knights and princes by his side.  Nope.  He was born in my little town of Bethlehem.  Not much of a birth place for a king, but it was spectacular.  It was the most spectacular night of my life.

      Like I said, my name is Elvis, Elvis Piggsley.  And, I come from a little town called Bethlehem.  Bethlehem is a small village with not many people.  In fact everyone knows everyone.  And all us animals we all know each other too.  There isn’t really anything special or unusual about our little town.  But to me it is the best town in the entire world.  There’s lots of room to run outside the walls, but the city itself is really quite small.

     One chilly December day one of the cows came to me and said that tons of people were entering through the gates of our village.  There was a census being taken and everyone who had ever been born or who’s family was from Bethlehem had to come back to be counted.  There were more people in the streets then I had ever seen in my life. 

     I was standing in the doorway of the cave that I lived in with the other animals, okay I was hiding in the cave cuz I was afraid of being crushed by all the people, when a man and a lady asked Fred, the guy who owns the Inn I live behind, if they could stay in a room for the night.  Fred didn’t have any rooms left, but he told them they could stay in the cave with us animals if they didn’t mind the smell.  Remember how I told you about the smelly cows?  Well, donkeys really don’t smell much better.  And the cave hadn’t been cleaned in a while.  Gussy the goose who normally cleans the cave had gone back to Jerusalem for the census so the place was a pig sty.  Anyway, we found out the lady was pregnant.  Her name was Mary and the man she was with well he was Joseph. 

     I quickly jumped into action and commanded the cows to welcome them with open hooves and we all worked together to make the place as nice as we could.  But before we knew what was happening Mary started to have the baby.  The cows got together and had a meeting of the dairy council to decide what to do.  The donkeys stood in front of the cave door to block the wind.  It gets very cold in Bethlehem in the winter.  It even snows.  That’s probably where the whole white Christmas thing comes from.  The sheep made a circle for Mary to lie on like a comfy bed.  The cows, believe it or not, mooed softly like a quiet lullaby that kept her and Joe calm and me, well I just sat in awe waiting for a miracle.  How did I know a miracle was going to happen?

      Because over the cave, shining through the hole in the top was the brightest star I had ever seen.  And it was glowing right over the trough where I had placed the clean dry hay ready to lay the new baby.  I just knew that this was going to be a night that would change history.  And I knew that this baby was going to be someone special.

     Jesus was born that night, in our smelly, stinky cave.  When Mary laid him in the manger I looked over the edge into his tiny face and I know he looked right at me and I felt like he knew me.  And he made that cold cave the warmest place I’ve ever been.   A tiny baby knew me a simple little pig. I will never forget that night in that little town called Bethlehem and the tiny king who changed a pig’s heart.

 

C. 2007 LEG

2 thoughts on “Oh little pig in Bethlehem

Leave a Reply

