IT IS FINISHED


I wrote this for a church in Ohio to use at their good friday service.  I thought I would share it!  Enjoy!

 

IT IS FINISHED

BY L.G. 2008 

WOMAN 1

I don’t know how my life got here.  I mean how did I get HERE?  I’m a good mom.  NO wait; I’m a GREAT mom, a fabulous wife.  I’m an awesome wife.  He is lucky to have me.  So how did this- all this stuff happen?  We were happy, or at least I thought we were.  Apparently he had different ideas on that subject.  He found little miss L’Oreal Box much  more appealing and I guess he thought HE was worth it…ya right.  Let me tell you she’s got a rude awakening in store for her. (She let’s out a huge sigh, noticeably broken and hurt).  Wow, this is hurt, this is more hurt then I have ever felt.  I could use a huge dose of something to wash this pain away.  I’m….I’m hurt, I’m sad, I’m mad.  I’m …..I’m….I’m broken.  And now, I’m alone.

 VOICE OVER #1(Read by a softer voice with inflection, but unseen by audience)John 19:26“When Jesus saw his mother there, and the disciple whom he loved standing nearby, he said to his mother, Dear woman, here is your son, and to the disciple, here is your mother.  From that time on this disciple took her into his home.

  GUY(BUSINESS TYPE, VERY SUCCESSFUL AND RICH, ALREADY MADE A NAME FOR HIMSELF IN HIS INDUSTRY)

Life in the fast lane.  That’s me.  I drive a great car, have a big house, and wear all the right clothes.  I’m on the ladder movin up.  I’m makin the money.  I have a different date every Friday night.  Everyone wants to be me.  Need to get a reservation at a trendy restaurant?  I’m your guy.  Tickets to the big game?  I’ve got a box.  I’m the go to guy, the man, to be friends with if you want to be on the inside.  I’ve got it all.  So, my boss calls me in today and offers me the deal of a lifetime.  Project manager on the biggest account in the firm.  It’s the dream job.  It’s what I’ve been working 8 years for.  My commission alone would be more then my last two years salary…which a lot.  I should have been over the moon, jumping up and down.  He was pouring champagne for everyone in the office.  People were slapping me on the back, toasts all around.  I just stood there.  8 years I’ve been working my tail off for this very moment.  Scraping and scratching whoever and whatever got in my way.  And, honestly I didn’t care who I knocked down on my way up.  So here I had made it.  Everything I hungered for all these years was right here in my lap.  But I didn’t know if it was worth it anymore.  I think, I think I’m thirsting for something bigger, better. 

  VOICE OVER #2 Later knowing that all was now completed, and so that the scripture would be fulfilled, Jesus said, “I am thirsty.”   A jar of wine vinegar was there so they soaked a sponge in it, put the sponge on a stalk of hyssop plant and lifted it to Jesus’ lips.

 WOMAN 2(This girl has been obviously weeping and is tired and emotionally drained)

Their dead.  All of them.  All…gone.  A whole family.  Well, all but one.  All but…all but…me.  Why?  Why does that kind of stuff, that kind of unfair unbelievably, unfair, ridiculous stupid careless kind of garbage happen?  Why?  No one deserves it.  No one.  But especially not them.  My mom, my mom is, or was….Oh God  she’s not an IS anymore….she’s a WAS.  With one bottle of whiskey and one act of stupidity on the part of some random guy who wouldn’t give up his keys in exchange for a taxi ride home for one night, my mom, dad, sister, brother and grandparents went from being IS to WAS…from being here to gone in a matter of seconds.  And now I’m an only.  Family – less, an orphan.  I’m lost!  I’m still an IS wishing I was where they are now!

 VOICE OVER #3LUKE 23:39-43 One of the criminals who hung there hurled insults at him: “Aren’t you the Christ?  Save yourself and us!”  But the other criminal rebuked him.   “Don’t you fear God,” he said.  “Since you are under the same sentence?  We are punished justly, for we are getting what our deeds deserve.  But this man has done nothing wrong.  Then he said, “Jesus remember me when you come into your kingdom.”  Jesus answered him.  “I tell you the truth, today you will be with me in paradise.”

  WOMAN #1

You know what, I don’t think you have an idea what goes on down here God.  I mean you say you watch all we do, you see it all, you hurt with us.  But I just don’t buy it.  Cuz if that were true I wouldn’t be sitting here having to try to figure out how to explain to my kids why their dad isn’t coming home anymore.  And worse yet why he’s chosen to go live with some other woman who has kids of her own.  Where are you going to be when I’m telling them that?  (She cries and then she yells at God)  And why God why does this have to hurt so much?  And why can’t you make me just stop loving him?????

     VOICE OVER #4MATTHEW 27:45 From the sixth hour until the ninth hour darkness came over all the land.  About the ninth hour Jesus cried out in a lout voice, “My God, my God why have you forsaken me?”

 GIRL

He was 25 years old.  Single.  I guess he was at some bachelor party or something.  At least that’s what the police said when they knocked on my door.  They took me to the police station and then to the hospital.  Mom was alive for like 2 hours after it happened.  And I saw him.  He had some cuts, a broken leg, and arm.  I really thought I’d want to kill him for what he’d done.  Then he looked at me and I saw these tears.  He started sobbing like a young child.  I don’t know, something in me broke at that moment.  Those tears rolling down his face, the look of horror and pain in his eyes; I couldn’t stop staring at him.  I had lost my family, my whole life but there he was laying there, alive, knowing he would live with the knowledge that he had caused that pain, that loss, for the rest of his life.  Talk about a broken man.  How does he ever get over that?  I guess he and I …WE are both broken now.

 VOICE OVER #5LUKE 23:33-34 When they came to the place called the skull, there they crucified him, along with the criminals-one on his right and one on his left.  Jesus said, “Father, forgive them, for they do not know what they are doing.”

 GUY

I walked away today.  I left it all.  The agency thought I was nuts.  But I just couldn’t do it anymore.  All the glitz, the glamour, it’s all meaningless.  No purpose to any of it.  I see people hurting, people all around me.  Like this girl I know.  She just lost her entire family.  Wiped out by some drunk driver.  She lost everyone close to her.  For the most part she’s alone now.  But you know how she reacted?  Instead of hating the guy who basically murdered her whole family she forgave him.  She actually saw him, at the hospital the night of the accident.  She is a broken girl, her heart is broken.  But she’s forgiving this guy.  That really got to me.  There has got to be more that I can do with all this money that I’ve acquired then just spend it on more fancy cars and bigger houses.  There will always be one more deal.  One more commission.  But there may only be one chance for me to make some sort of difference in this life.  So, today I ended my old life and now I’m trying to start a new less selfish, more helpful forgiving life.  For the first time in my life I saw God.  And I saw it him in her broken eyes when she talked about that guy who killed her family.  So, it’s out with the old.

 VOICE OVER #6JOHN 19:30 When he had received the drink, Jesus said “it is finished.  With that he bowed his head and gave up his spirit.

 WOMAN #1

My brother called today.  Out of the nowhere my little brother, the most selfish man on the planet calls me up.  He said he was calling just to see how I was doing.  I haven’t heard from him in like 5 years since he became some big executive hanging around with the rich and famous.  My kids barely even know he exists.  I asked what he was really calling for and he said he honestly was calling to see how I am.  He apologized for being so distant from my life.  HE apologized.  I about fell over.  So, I started telling him about my marriage ending.  I told him all the pain I was feeling, how betrayed I felt, and hurt and abandoned.  Then I told him I didn’t know how to tell the kids.  Do you know what he said?  I couldn’t believe it.  He said he was hopping on a plane and he would be here tomorrow.  I said “What about your Job?”  He said he had quit.  I was dumbfounded.  He said he’d explain it all when he got here, Something about seeing God in the eyes of a girl who had lost everything.  So, God, I guess you heard me after all.

 VOICE OVER #7MARK 15:37 With a loud cry Jesus breathed his last!  

THE END   

2 thoughts on “IT IS FINISHED

Leave a Reply

