there is no limit….


Tonight I have come to the realization that there is no limit to what mom’s will do for their children.  And here is why.  Tonight, friday night, the night I could be out having fun, going to the movies with the other kids and my husband, I am at home, babysitting….robobaby!  Yep that’s right ladies and gentlemen.  I am the proud grandma of a robo baby. My daughter, a Jr in highschool has the joy and honor of being mommy to Caliope the robo baby for the weekend.  Don’t get me wrong.  I love helping out my kids whenever I can.  And one of those areas is with school projects.  And I have been anxious to have another grandchild around so this seemed the perfect opportunity to get that urge out of me for the time being with the robo baby while my daughter works tonight.  So, in my own strange way i was looking forward to it.  But now I believe that her teacher, who has a habit of pulling a fast one now and again, chose my daughter to be the one who has the robo baby programmed to be cholicy!  Yep, I have a cranky, screaming, unhappy, unconsolible robo baby.  This child screams bloody murder and nothing stops her.  Not feeding, not burping, not changing, not rocking.  Nothing.  I just get her to sleep, lay her down and wham…she cries again.  NOT FUNNY!  I am in robo baby hell.  It wouldn’t be so bad if the kid could actually sort of cuddle back or was soft and smelled like a baby, or was soft like a baby.   But it’s not.  It’s hard plastic.  Nothin cuddly about it.  And when it sleeps it’s eyes stay wide open…can you say “creepy baby?” 

One things for sure, this will be the best birth control I could have ever hoped to have for my daughter, not to mention the boys around my house who have been hiding in their rooms just to get away from the screaming of the baby!  HEEEEEE….sometimes there is poetic justice!  Maybe robo babies should be a manditory teaching tool for all boys who reach the age of 13-14 years old!  I would love to see the midnight feedings!

Uh oh…time for another feeding!

This is robo granny signing out!

 

 

4 thoughts on “there is no limit….

  1. Chris says:

    Yeah, the sad truth is that they need to experience the robo baby at about 13 now instead of 16.

    My friend’s youner sister had to have a robo baby for her life skills class in high school too. The really ironic thing was that she was already pregnant. Oops. Maybe if they had indeed done it earlier, maybe a lesson might have been learned.

  2. allisonbarton says:

    Thanks for the comment on my blog!

    It wasn’t until the past few weeks that I knew that these robobabies were real! I had seen them on TV, in movies, etc. but I didn’t realize that schools *actually* used them. What an interesting thing.

    Sorry to hear your little creepy baby (sleeping with eyes open? Yeah, that has a creep factor of 100!) is colicky. I’m sure it will be a good lesson, though.

    By the way, your flickr photography is absolutely gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

