Thankful


Today I have had over 100 people read my blog…my little blog about me and my little life…wow.  That astounds me.  Why would people want to read stuff I’ve written?  But then I realized that I love reading what other people write as well.  It is so interesting to learn what other people do in their lives, with their time, their relationships, families, etc.   Maybe we are all just really nosey!  Or maybe we all have a yearning desire to have more people around us, more closeness and understanding of others.  Maybe by reading about what goes on around us we can, ourselves, become more thankful for what we have.  And maybe we can boost the morale of someone else, or lend a kind word, give a laugh to someone who could really use one, brighten the day of someone who is down, or just congratulate a couple on a two year wedding anniversary!

In this technological world we live in, we are so fast paced with so little time to really connect to the outside world, maybe this is the place that we can, if only for a moment, feel that sense of closeness to “a friend in need”.  I have written a few times about my life with Lupus and how it affects what I do and how we, as a family, live.  Well, it also affects all relationships I have outside of this house, away from this computer, away from the walls that surround the safety of my bedroom.  There are times when I feel detached from those that I used to have so much in common with.  It’s like a defense device I use to keep from hurting myself or them.   But here, in this tiny little box, I can open up my heart and share things with total strangers without fear of wounding them if I get too close and somehow have to back away from the relationship.  And, I don’t have to worry about breaking my own heart when I don’t have the strength to keep the relationship on the forefront of my priorities list when I only have strength to deal with the relationships that reside within these walls of my home. 

Here, in this small white box I can be thankful for words, and phrases of comfort, of laughter, of sadness of hope and of grace.  Maybe that’s why we come here.  Maybe that’s why over 100 people have read what I write today.  The world is full of people like me who want to feel connected in one way or another, but because of circumstances beyond their control the only connection they have strength or time or energy for is the one they make here. 

So, for that I am thankful.  thankful that I can share my heart and my words with who ever wants to read them.  And thankful for all of you who are willing to share your words with me!

4 thoughts on “Thankful

  1. MissyP says:

    ello 🙂 I like reading your blog.. I’m so fortunate to have met a survivr of life just like you 🙂 will be coming by more often! btw how did you get the ‘about me and my weblog’ link? I’m trying hard to find some way of letting people know about the author but I can’t seem to find the link..lol

    ilikemethisway.wordpress.com

  2. neofreud says:

    I completely agree with what you said in this blog.

    That is interesting because you were the first person too look and comment my blog yesterday, and by the end of the day it was my busiest day ever. (43 views)

    Maybe one day I will have an army of faithful viewers who with laugh and cry along side of me as I write about life but in the meantime I am thankful as well for the few people that come and read and share their lives with me.

    I like reading your blog and will be back soon. 🙂

  3. Denise Turner says:

    Wow! What an inspiration you are! You’ve got me pondering and taking an inventory of all that I’m thankful for– which is a lot.

    Thanks & all the best to you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

