I can feel summer!


This week summer has reared it’s ugly Phoenix head.  Let me tell ya, if you have Lupus there are a few places that are probably not the best places to call home.  Africa would be one, probably, Saudi Arabia, the Arabian Desert, Death Valley, and Phoenix Arizona.  I probably can’t speak for all Lupus fighters but speaking for myself, I can honestly say that for the most part the sun is my enemy, especially in 110 degrees. 

As soon as the sun begins its rise in temperature, I can feel it in every joint, in my skin, I can almost say my insides begin to burn.  The lovely rash that seems to overtake my body pops out.  And I know the summer of heat, pain, and “pushing through” has begun.  Summer should be a time of enjoyment, spending time splashing in the pool with my kids, going to the water park, picnics, hikes.  for me those things have to wait until the sun starts to go down.  I miss out on a lot of things because of the sun!

We have set records here in PHoenix this week.  It has been unusually hot.  But tomorrow, TOMORROW it will cool down again, and rain will come.  And in a lot of ways that is a blessing.  The sun won’t give me mind altering headaches.  I will be able to live through the drive to the office with out feeling as if I want to crawl into a dark hole and bury my head and hibernate until winter comes again.  So that is a good thing. 

So, I still have time to prepare, at least for awhile, for the heat to re-enter this zone of life.  But, I got a taste of what’s to come and I’m not excited.  Thank God for airconditioning!

Leave a Reply

