Another day in paradise


Here is is, another day in sunny Arizona and I’m well…I’m hot.  I wish the sun was kinder toward me, but that’s just not how it is.  Everyday gets hotter and everyday my skin gets more blotchy and scaly and my headaches become more frequent, my joints ache more and I am just generally tired.  Such is the life of a lupus fighter! 

Yesterday seemed like a never ending day.  There was so much to do and even after I had left our business at 4 there was still a list miles long of things that had to be done in “real” life…you know what I’m talking about ladies…( okay maybe some of you men know too).  I’m talking about shopping, cooking, cleaning up, running errands, taking care of the kids…and actually spending a quality moment or two with them without becoming so overly tired all I want to do is hide in my room and sleep.  That’s normal life for working moms (and dad” too).  But, for me, there are days when the fight in my body makes the jobs of “real life” seem so daunting that I can hardly bear it.  And yesterday was one of those days. 

My grandkids, whom I adore, were at the house when I got home, my daughter’s best friend, whom I also adore and treat as one of my own, was at the house and my three kids.  All we needed were my stepsons to be there and the house would have been complete…ANIMAL HOUSE!  I love my life, the kids, the grandkids.  There are times when I thrive on it all.  But yesterday…yesterday was a very hard day for me. I was in pain…miserable shooting pain, through my body.  However, my job as a mom, and as a Lupus fighter, is to try my hardest to overcome that pain, to be mom as best as I can, and to teach my kids that although there will be times when you just want to quit..it isn’t an option.  NEVER QUIT!

So, after my shower last night, I went to just rest my head for a moment on my bed.  AHhh it felt so good, wrapped around my body pillow, just laying there still.  All the pressure points in my throbbing back, and knee were beginning to relax.  3 hours later  my husband found me…sound asleep.  Out like a light. 

So, I guess last nights lesson to my kids was “NEVER EVER GIVE UP…but if you need to take a nap..then go ahead”. 

Ahhh such is life I guess!

6 thoughts on “Another day in paradise

  1. Janet Walgren says:

    I’m sorry for your challenges but envious that you have your grandchildren close. I hope that a cure will be found that will allow you to enjoy the rest of your life.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. I’ll check back from time to time to see how you’re doing. best wishes on your lupus journal.

  2. Permanent Ink says:

    Good afternoon.
    Reading this I felt like I could have wrote it.
    I’m sure many of the Lupus survivors can relate.
    I am an outdoorsy woman. But Lupus has put a big damper on that. I spent 4 hours out in the sun, (yes, I know better), on Saturday morning. I was hoping, that this time around the pains, from head to toe would not appear. Wrong!! It hit me yesterday. It sucks and there’s nothing I can do. Today, the mirgraines have started. I am not sure exactly how Lupus affects my mind, but right now my mind is fuzzy. Words don’t come easily. My speech is impaired, slightly, but it’s noticeable.

    Well, enough from me…You take care of yourself. Always remember, tomorrow comes, maybe with a cure. Toodles : )

  3. kweenmama says:

    I don’t know what it is like to have Lupus but I do admire the way you face it. I also know how wonderful a good nap can feel! Glad yours was restful.

  4. touchofglory says:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! My husband deals very well with NASH. It really hasn’t affected our lives too much. I was very upset about it at first, but I realized that I couldn’t worry constantly about it or I’d drive myself crazy! However, I have Epstein-Barr (the virus that causes mono). It has been in my system for a little over four years now. As a nurse anesthetist, I’m on my feet all day long. We also have a six year old and a four year old. So, I know how it feels to be utterly exhausted most of the time. I could nap for hours after work, sleep all night long, and still be tired. God bless you! Visit again soon!
    Melissa

Leave a Reply

