What am I doing?


Have you ever had those moments when you just think to yourself “What am I doing?”  I mean, when you sit and wonder has my life meant anything to anyone?  Am I all about making life easy for my kids on summer vacation, picking up stuff, making dinner, watching them sleep the day away, taking care of my husband, and working?  Don’t get me wrong.  I love my life, I love my kids, and I love my husband.  Besides which this new business is and has been a real growing experience for me and for my husband.  It hasn’t been without it’s turmoil and upsets, but all in all it has been a growth time for us.

But, is this where I thought I would be now in my life?  Is it too late for me to chase any of those dreams that I have had for so long?  Am I just too old to make any of those things happen for me????

I AM a writer.  It is in my blood and my heart.  It is what I have always wanted  to do.  I want to write a great work of literary genius.  I want to spill my thoughts out onto a page and have people want to read it.  I have started, stopped and started again a novel, a book of poetry, a devotional book, I have done several childrens stories…but….here I am, still just dreaming of being a true writer in every sense of the word.

I couldn’t make a living at it, at this point.  I suppose there are many “writers” like me out there who would love nothing more then to be able to live and thrive as a writer.  Yes I have been published a few times.  And each time was as wonderful as the time before.  Exciting..thrilling!

But, I would love to write something that would mean something to people. 

So, what am I doing? 

I’m blogging cuz I don’t like the rejection letters that come in the mail. 

I guess it is time for me to step it up a notch, and follow my heart, rejection letters or not, and start sending stuff out there again.

Or, am I just too old for those kinds of dreams????

6 thoughts on “What am I doing?

  1. sweetiegirlz says:

    Gurl, you know you aren’t too old gahhhh!!! The beauty of writing is, that you can do it a little or a lot. Attack it with all your heart, or chip away at it like a great artist until something beautiful remains. If I, as someone so friggin’ distracted all the time can manage to eke out a few chapters…wow. just don’t give up is all I’m saying. Old is a frame of mind.

    Ps- You’ve been published?? You are blessed. I haven’t even got that far.

  2. lwayswright says:

    Yes I have been published..one book, a few greeting cards, some poems here and there, and devotionals. But, nothing major! Thanks for your words. I appreciate it.

  3. L says:

    I’m with Sweetie on this. You are not to old for a dream. As long are alive you are able to share your words.
    As for meaning something to people, you do. You mean something to your family, to your readers, and only the Lord knows who you may have touched with what you have already done.

    A writer writes.
    You may share a poem with a neighbor that forever touches their soul.
    Your devotional may have been passed on to someone who has had their life changed, their eyes opened, their eternity altered and never know it in this life.

    Anyhow, I just wanted to comment and let you know that no, you are not to old to dream. Neither are you to old to follow those dreams.

  4. Chris says:

    I believe that when you stop dreaming, you are dead. Maybe not physically (for a while) but a piece of your soul dies. God gave you dreams for a reason! He didn’t put them in your heart to torment you… he put them there to give you hope and reach for the better you.

    Gor for it!

  5. Breeza says:

    You are definitely not too old for that dream. That’s what makes life life! I think it’s great and I hope you do get published…again!

Leave a Reply

