People…Life….Family…ALL strange!


Sometimes it is very difficult for me to understand people.  Why do they do the things they do???  I mean things that you would think were common sence type of things, get overlooked or pushed aside in order to “avoid”.  Avoidance…we all know what that is.  Some of us are better at confrontation then others.  That is a fact of life.  But there are just some things…

For instance…my stepdaughter and her kids, who just moved here in February, moved back to washington.  Not a big deal really. If that is where they feel they need to be then that is where they should be.  It’s the way they did it.  They left, without saying a word to anyone, no goodbyes, no “this is where we will be” nothing..just left!  It was as if they skulked away in the middle of the night..running from the law or something. 

Then, four days after the fact, having already setteled in in Washington I get an email.  They informed me..via…EMAIL!  I love my grandkids…I loved having them here.  I would have loved to say goodbye to them!  Then we found out that…my son in law..is still living here.  But he won’t answer our calls or answer the door when we drive by the house.  What is that all about???? I have no clue!  So weird.  Such drama and for what??

It’s kind of like when people make things “private” on the internet for no real reason.  Kids do it all the time on myspace, or facebook.  Don’t get me wrong, I understand the safety aspect of being private, especially for kids.  But, blocking out friends or acquaintances..always makes me feel like “drama” is trying to be created.  And, really, who wants drama?  I guess them leaving, without evening saying goodbye, has caused me to wonder what it is that really makes people tick.  What is it that causes some people to thrive on drama and some people, like me, to want to puke when it begins? 

And, then there’s teenagers.  I am totally baffeled by teenagers.  Most of the time it seems there is no pleasing them.  Was I that hard when I was a kid?  If I was, I am so sorry mom and dad.  The angst, the pain.  The feelings. Then I feel guilty as a mom cuz I just can’t figure it out.  And I want to figure it out so badly.  There is nothing worse then thinking your kid is hurting and you can’t help.  And no matter what you do, no matter how hard you try, it just doesn’t come out right.  Maybe that is the way God gets back at us for what we put our own parents through.  I will certainly ask when I get to heaven..cuz it isn’t a funny joke!

So, when I get these musings, wonderings and annoying questions in my head, I often feel like I have no where to turn.  I have no one who can give me concrete answers as to why people are they way they are.  THerefore, I have decided, in my infinate wisdom to go to my puppy.  She loves me, unconditionally loves me.  And as sad as it seems…I am beginning to understand the old lady with a million cats…or dogs…sometimes they are just easier then people!

3 thoughts on “People…Life….Family…ALL strange!

  1. sweetiegirlz says:

    I know it hurts, lways, it does, but just remember one important thing, you are not responsible for any of it. God isn’t getting back at you. People these days are so full of confusion in their lives, that’s it. Pure and simple. There’s not a day that goes by when I don’t have to look inward and struggle to find that inner peace after people have taken it from me, sometimes unknowingly. I have a son who is 23 in the Army and he goes months and months without communicating with me! He says I’m not to blame but….even after I tell him it hurts me, he still does it! I pray for your inner peace, and ((((hugs))))to you. You’re an awesome mom.

  2. Amber says:

    *hug* Sounds like the boy is really in pain so he’s blocking you out.

    I think its weird too, but everyone has their processes and rarely do they bother to think of anyone other than themselves. Remember its all about Meeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!

    I am sorry you miss your grandkids. That sucks!

  3. Des says:

    I’m in your camp on this one. There’s should be a system of decency that everyone adheres to. Walking out in the middle of the night is very weird.

Leave a Reply

