I am going to start writing…again.


It’s been a while since I actually sat down and started project…a real project…writing.  I am a writer at heart and I have been using this blog as a forum to get out all the words that I haven’t had anywhere else to place.  But I think it’s time that I start that dream of mine to get another book going.  I’m not sure what it will be about, or how it will end up going.  One thing is for certain, I have alot of life experience to draw from.  I know for sure that it will have something to do with Lupus and getting the word out about this illness. 

As I listen to the radio on a daily basis and watch TV i notice the huge trend toward raising money toward cancer related illnesses.  that’s not a bad thing…don’t get me wrong.  But somewhere a long the line those of us with Lupus have dropped the ball.  Lupus is a lifelong, chronic, debilatating illness, that can potentially and often times does kill the people who have it.  It is an illness that tends to not have any outside signs..people can look totally healthy.  And, if you are a fairly good actress like I am, many times people don’teven know that you are sick; even those closest to you.  It’s an illness that can bring with it guilt, and fear and worry and sadness. It is an illness that for many completely changes the way you have to live the rest of your life.  And I am amazed how many people have no idea what it is.  There are no public service announcements, very rarely is there a celebrity that mentions it or endorses the raising of funds to find a cure.  It is what it is…a silent killer!

It has been my goal through this blog to give more information about Lupus, but not just the disease itself, what it does to a family, how people live with it, how it changes your life.  I write about normal things, day to day life, funny things, sad things, “life” stuff.  But through it all, woven in the fabric of what I write is the fact that my whole life, all I do, is driven by the fact that I am a fighter of this chronic illness. 

So, it is time for me to write…maybe a story…a fictional story about a woman who lives with this illness.  Her loves, her losses, her ups and downs but mostly the Grace of god and his hand in it all. 

Starting today, I am going to start  writing again….really writing!

5 thoughts on “I am going to start writing…again.

  1. lupusranting says:

    I honestly think you have enough talent and real-life substance to write a significant story! And taking it a step further, how cool would it be for lupus bloggers to pool our life experiences into a book of true stories, poems and pictures? Just a thought.

    You’re so right about the need for PSA’s and endorsements. Awareness is key for the cure.

  2. Amber says:

    You know, that is the thing that people don’t get. The knock on affects of being chronically ill. How it affects not only your life, but the life of your family, friends and everyone you come in contact with. Suddenly you are a second class citizen. You no longer feel like you can commit to anything because you never know how you are going to feel. You don’t want to buy tickets to do the things you enjoy just in case you are having a bad day and waste the money. It so sucks. Plus hating having other people have to make adjustments for you. No one understands these basic things that we deal with each and ever day. Even wanting to have sex with our husbands/partners, but our bodies being in too much pain to be able.

    IT SUCKS!

Leave a Reply

