What happened to halloween???


I admit,I am not the hugest of halloween fans.  I don’t go all out and put up pumkin lights on the outside of the house, or line the sidewalk with jack o lanterns.  In fact since my kids are grown I haven’t even carved one in several years.  I have never been a big halloween party goer, even during my college years.  I wasn’t a big “party girl” in the first place, so halloween parties, especially the college variety, were never on my list of priorities…I know, my kids are now rolling their eyes and thinking i am the most boring person on the planet.

However, when my kids were little, I did dress them up, and parade them around the neighborhood, taking them to the grandparents houses, aunts and uncles and any where they were passing out the biggest candy bars (that was for my benefit, naturally) in the spirt of the “great pumpkin”.  I remember when  my oldest daughter had her first halloween, she could barely even sit up by herself, and I dressed her up like cupid.  She looked so cute.  I admit that I always tried to make the non scary variety of costumes for my kids.  I wasn’t a big fan of the blood oozing, hatchet sticking out of the head, open wound wearing styles of costumes that a lot of kids wore.  I don’t think that was always the most popular way to go for halloween but that was how it was in our home.  And, the kids still had pillowcases full of candy for me….I mean them to eat when they got home!  LOL.

Well, the last few years halloween has been very boring around our neighborhood.  Last year we had one kid show up.  I had bought two huge bags of candy in hopes of seeing some cute little ghosts and goblins, afterall mine are all grown up, I love little kids and this is the one holiday out of the year that they actually come to MY house to see me….and it’s fun to see them all dressed up.  I was so bummed.  This year, I figured since halloween is on friday surely there will be tons of kids out beggin for candy…guess what…I haev had three kids at my door.  Three…three little kids.  That’s all!  My own kids haven’t even come by to see me this year!  Geez.  I just can’t catch a break. 

I started wondering if maybe the neighborhood association had gotten together and decided that all children should stay away from the weird lady who has had a pig runnin around her house for the last year or so.   But Elvis isn’t even here anymore.  Or maybe they have seen me roll out the garbage in the morning in my sweats and are just plain afraid of me….I know I would be if i were a little kid.  Or perhaps they have seen how many kids hang around this house as it is and think there is no way we could afford to buy candy for anyone elses kids.  But whatever the reason…this has been a very boring, lonely and sad halloween.  Oh where oh where have the children gone?  Oh were could the trick or treaters be???? That’s what I want to know.

I know….its the election….The election has scared them all away!  That’s what I blame everything for these days…so I guess I will blame the lack of trick or treaters on that as well!  Now I feel much better!

Happy Halloween!

6 thoughts on “What happened to halloween???

  1. Amber says:

    Man you should come over to my house next year. I went through 9 bags of candy! 9!!!!!!! I had to shut the light off at 8:30 because I ran out after that. It was beyond beyond!

  2. kweenmama says:

    We had trick-or-treaters at our house, but I have noticed that the numbers are dwindling each year. Maybe our neighborhood is just getting older. Perish the thought!

  3. Ginger says:

    I just wanted to let you know that my sister Rena and I have just started our first meme. It is called The Daily Mercies and will be weekly on Sundays. We would love for you to share some pointers and comments to help us along the way. Maybe you can help us to get the word out as well. We look forward to hearing from you and hope to see you and some of your bloggy friends join us this Sunday.

Leave a Reply

