It was my anniversary!


I feel sort of badly because my 8 year anniversary to my DH was yesterday….and slightly overshadowed by the inaugeration of President Obama.  So, today I am going to tell our story a little bit. 

We met on the internet about 10 years ago.  Yep that’s right on the internet.  We chatted for quite some time before we actually spoke on the phone and then met for the first time.  I started falling for him almost immediately!  I can’t say that the same was true for him.  I think he was still hurting over his divorce, and he was also seeing some other women at the same time….BAD BOY! LOL.  But, we continued to talk and see each other off and on until he went on a business trip for a week.  During that week we emailed back and forth trying to figure out what we were doing.  When he flew in a week later he showed up on my doorstep and the rest, as they say, is history!

Our life together hasn’t been without it’s struggles.  We are a blended family…a LARGE blended family.  He had six kids I have three…yep nine kids between  us.  I played mom for his youngest daughters wedding when her mom was unable to be there, I became grandma to his grandkids.  We even went through the heartache of losing a grandchild when he was only a few days old. 

We have been through tough teenagers, money trouble, starting a new business, losing jobs, and losing my mom.  But by far I think one of the hardest things we have been through is my diagnosis of lupus about 6 years ago now.  I really thought he would leave, run.  What man would want to spend the rest of his life with a woman who has a chronic disease and three kids to raise?  He only had two left at home, and certainly life would be easier without me around.  We struggled, I struggled.  I have had a lot of self esteem issues, many moments of discouragement and depression when I  have cried out to God for help.  What got me through those moments was my husbands loving arms around me. 

Even when we have had our hardest moments, moments when we wondered what would become of us, we still held on to one another.  Many outside forces try to disrupt marriages in this world.  It is so easy to give up, divorce and move on to the next person.  But this marriage, for me, is a lifetime deal.  I’ve been divorced, I’ve felt the pain of betrayal, I’ve lived with heartache and pain.  I have learned that I need to share those moments of concern with my partner.  Together we can work it out and make our marriage stronger and healthier. 

So, happy anniversary honey.  I love you more today then I did the day we got married.  You are my rock and you keep me steady when I feel like I’m tumbling through a maze of confusion.  I cannot imagine a life without the comfort of your arms, the warmth of your smile and the joy that fills my heart when we laugh together.  8 years…the best is yet to be!

4 thoughts on “It was my anniversary!

  1. autoimmunelife says:

    It was my husband’s birthday, but it too was kinda overshadowed by the inauguration, I told him the government was giving him a birthday present lol! That was our way of looking at it this year.

  2. psychscribe says:

    What a beautiful tribute to your husband and your relationship!!!! My marriage is a 2nd one also for both of us, we came together with 4 young kids between us…and actually I think it was the KIDS that were an even greater challenge than the lupus LOL! Congratulations to BOTH of you!!!!

Leave a Reply

