Prom Weekend


Do you remember your prom?  I remember both of mine.  I went to a private highschool…a christian highschool that believed dancing led to sex so..we didn’t have a traditional prom.  We had a Junior Senior banquet…it was called simply JS!  At the banquet was great food, hangin with friends and an always comical skit done by the teachers mocking all of the students!  Then after the banquet someone always opened their house for an after party, no booze, no drugs, just being with friends and having a good time.  I don’t remember a lot of the details of JS but I do remember I went my senior year with my best “guy” friend in highschool.  Neither of us were dating anyone and it seemed like a great idea for a fun end to senior year (shout out to Troy Nelson!) 

I remember wearing the dress I had worn as a bridesmaid in my brother’s wedding…it was actually a dress that you COULD wear again, and being with my best girlfriend.  But the best part of our prom came the next day when everyone set out for Taylors Falls to picnic and hang out.  The girls would pack a huge picnic lunch and we would drive to the falls and spend the day.  It was a blast. 

Well, this past weekend was my daughters prom.  It made me a bit nostalgic and it also made me wonder where some of the creativity has gone that used to surround proms and dances in highschool.  The theme of her prom was a “rocker” theme…not 50’s rocker or 60’s just rocker.  Basically, it was a dance that no one really had to get creative to make memorable.  What happened to masquerade balls and huge formals and things?  Now kids just want to dance to music where they can “bump and grind” on each other and not have to be creative about any of it.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m not trying to diss my daughters prom, this actually came from her…they don’t even have sadie hawkins dances anymore…what’s up with that? 

Anyway, my daughter looked amazing.  Her date was truly a lucky guy to have gotten to spend the evening with her.  So, here are a few pictures of my beautiful daughter….

My daughter (in silver) and friends

My daughter (in silver) and friends

my daughter and her best friend

my daughter and her best friend

my daughter and her date

my daughter and her date

Some of you know that I have been having some tests done on my heart this week.  It has been a stressful week but two of the tests are done.  And while Idon’t have results yet I am thinking positively knowing that God is gracious and that no matter what the outcome is I am sure there will be a solution to the problem.  I have found that if I keep my focus positive I feel better and can cope with what lies ahead!  Thanks for the thoughts and prayers!

 

Life is going to be busy the next few weeks with graduations and things.  It’s time to celebrate all the hardwork my kids have put in to getting where they are.  I’m so proud of them!  This is when the whole parenting thing starts becoming worth it all!

Leave a Reply

