graduation is upon us!


I have two graduations this year.  My oldest daughter, Ashli, is graduating from the U of A with a degree in Journalism.  And my daughter Kassi is graduating from High school this year.  I am so proud of both of them.  Ashli has worked so hard to put herself through school, and has always been an intelligent and successful woman.  She is an unbelievable writer, and has a voice like an angel!  I often find myself living vicariously through her.  I know she is going to go on and do amazing things with her life.

Kassi has had to fight especially hard to get through school.  She has been dealing with dyslexia, which we found out when she was in first grade, and has taught herself many unusual tricks to make things in school more manageable for herself.  She is intuitive, and bright and funny and she is the kindest person I know.  She has a true heart of gold and will go out of her way for just about anyone.  She is planning on going to college to get a degree to teach special education.  She has big dreams of starting various programs to make getting through  school and continuing education more do-able for those with special needs.    With all the cutbacks happening in education these days she is one who knows how much help some kids need and how that help is slowly but surely being taken away from them.  She is a fighter and doesn’t want to give up the right of education for everyone!

Congratulations Ashli and Kassi.  I am so proud of you, as women, and I am proud to say I am your mom.  I’m not sure what part I played in how well you turned out, I think it probably had more to do with your will to survive and succeed then it did with me.  I love you and I look forward to seeing what the future holds for you both!

Kassis pics 078Kassis pics 097mom and kassi

2 thoughts on “graduation is upon us!

Leave a Reply

