life is fragile


Dad had a new defibrilator put in today.  My dad has always been the kind of man that, no matter what the illness or surgery, he didn’t use pain meds afterwards.  He has always been out of bed walking by the evening of the surgery come hell or high water.  He has survived 19 heart attackes, stents, ablations, angioplasties, knee surgery, blood clots and the list goes on.  This was his fourth defib install and today my dad was in pain.  I think this is the first time I have seen him in real pain. It was hard to see him like that…he has always been the strong one, the one who could handle the pain and would do his best to help us handle our pain.  Today, I saw how truly old my dad has become…which in turn made me miss my mom.  Thankfully he made it through the operation  and will go home tomorrow.  Growing old much be hard!!! I’m not sure I’m looking forward to all of it!

One thought on “life is fragile

Leave a Reply

